Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Mobile Museum of American Artifacts Taos Residency

March 30 @ 8:00 am - April 30 @ 5:00 pm

| Free

The PASEO Project will host its first artist in residence program with artist Laurelin Kruse and her Mobile Museum of American Artifacts (MMoAA). The “museum” will engage the Taos community in participatory art installations and acequia-themed events that celebrate local traditions. The project’s goal is to acknowledge the culture embedded in everyday objects, illuminating their role in history and sparking community dialog, all in a museum-like setting.

MMoAA activities include the capture of oral histories related to objects, including the acequia culture; lectures and community presentations around water and cultural topics; a teen and undergraduate intern program to educate and engage our youth. The residency will conclude with a public exhibition celebrating water, acequia culture and the oral histories attached to this community treasure.

The Mobile Museum of American Artifacts (2014-present) is described as “a participatory, evolving installation—an ever-changing picture of American life cast from the objects and stories contributed by those who encounter the work along its journey. MMoAA conducts an “archaeology of the present” to look at the everyday, the local—the lives we live and the places we inhabit. It sees the present tense on its way to becoming a story, a thing regarded, the first rough draft of memory.”

The Mobile Museum of American Artifacts
The Mobile Museum of American Artifacts

Throughout the month of April, the Taos Community will be invited to participate by contributing their artifacts to the project.

The Mobile Museum of American Artifacts
Taos, New Mexico Schedule, April 2018

OPENING WEEK
Water is Community Storytelling Weekend April 6 – 8th
Friday, April 6, 4-6pm –TCA – Water is Community Installation Opening
Sunday, April 8, 7pm –TCA – Pecha Kucha Night Taos

WEEK 2
Tuesday, April 10, 12-3pm –Questa Library
Thursday, April 12, 11:30am-2pm — Taos Plaza
Wednesday, April 11, 11-2pm –Ancianos Senior Center
Saturday, April 14, 12-3pm –Taos Mesa Brewing Mothership / KNCE live remote

WEEK 3
Sunday, April 15, 11-2pm –Penasco Theater
Wednesday, April 18, 11-2pm –Ancianos Senior Center
Wednesday, April 18, 5pm –Men’s Homeless Shelter
Thursday, April 19, 2-5pm –Questa Library
Friday, April 20, 1-2pm –Taos Retirement Village

WEEK 4
Sunday, April 22, 12-3pm –Millicent Rogers Museum
Wednesday, April 25 –Enos Garcia Elementary (classroom event)
Thursday, April 26 –Taos Integrated School of the Arts (TISA classroom event)
Friday, April 27, 10-2pm — University of New Mexico-Taos, Klauer Campus
Saturday, April 28 –Enos Garcia Elementary Gymnasium – Invent Event
Sunday, April 29 12-3pm –Harwood Museum of Art, Closing Day with Artist Talk at 3pm

The PASEO Project partners with the LOR Foundation to present MMoAA in Taos.

Details

Start:
March 30 @ 8:00 am
End:
April 30 @ 5:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,
Website:
http://www.themmoaa.org/

Venue

Taos Historic District
222 Paseo del Pueblo Norte
Taos, NM 87571 United States
+ Google Map